Finalists and judging panel announced for BYPY Awards 2018

BYPY18 Judges: Caroline Hill, Ian Barnes, Jilly Cosgrove, David Hardman, Deborah Cadman, Michael Parker, Victoria Ball


The West Midlands Combined Authority’s Chief Executive, Deborah Cadman OBE, has chaired an esteemed panel of judges to determine winners of BPS Birmingham Future’s flagship awards, Birmingham Young Professional of the Year (BYPY), which is taking place on Thursday 24th May at the ICC.

Seventeen impressive young professionals from across six categories were shortlisted and interviewed by the panel, with a winner chosen in each category as well as an overall winner.

This year’s finalists have been revealed as:

Finance (sponsored by Wesleyan)

  • Zoe Brown, PWC
  • Laura Thursfield, Mazars
  • Andy Lee, NatWest

HR, Recruitment & Training (sponsored by HSBC Bank)

  • Robert Whitehouse, Sparta Global
  • Gishan Abeyratne, BCL Legal


  • Laura Daly, Irwin Mitchell
  • Ben Gardner, Pinsent Mason
  • Chrissie Wolfe, Irwin Mitchell

Marketing & Comms

  • Sunny Gill, Silver Mountain
  • Beth Sadler, Aston Business School
  • Tru Powell, Alternate Events

Property & Construction

  • Jonathan Stott, Gateley Hamer
  • Kuli Bajwa, RPS Group
  • Gurpreet Bassi, SDL Auctions

Technology (sponsored by JDX Consulting)

  • Sarah Mullett, Legal & General
  • Sud Parwana, PWC
  • Rebecca Hook, Legal & General

Speaking at judging day, Deborah Cadman OBE, said:

“It’s been an absolute privilege to chair the judges. I have seen and heard from the most amazing young people who have demonstrated they really are at the top of their game. They’ve been humble, committed, and if they are to win, all of them will use the position to give back and support the bright young talent of the future; by influencing even younger people in this city and region to do well and achieve. We’re really excited by the breadth of talent in every category and of course those who have won, and I think they will all continue to grow and develop and become even better.”

Deborah was joined on the panel by some of the region’s top professionals, including Caroline Hill, Director of HR & Corporate Services at Wesleyan; Jilly Cosgrove, Founder of PR and design agency Barques; Ian Barnes, International Tax Partner at Deloitte and Chair of BPS Birmingham; Dr. David Hardman, CEO of Innovation Birmingham and recipient of last year’s ‘Inspiring Leader’ award; Victoria Ball, Senior Associate at Trowers & Hamlins and Chair of BPS Birmingham Future; and Michael Parker, Associate Director at Gleeds and winner of BYPY 2017.

Now in its 18th year, BYPY has been established as one of the most respected accolades in the business community, building upon BPS Birmingham Future’s commitment to recognising, developing and rewarding young professionals throughout the year. Taking place at the ICC on 24th May, this year’s headline sponsor is BNP Paribas Personal Finance, following on from their sponsorship of the Marketing & Communications category in 2017.

In addition to the six categories, finalists have also been revealed in the Aspiring Talent category, which this year welcomes PwC as sponsor. This award recognises exceptional individuals aged between 16 and 24 who are currently in full-time Higher/Further Education or training and looking to embark upon a professional services career within Birmingham. This year’s Aspiring Talent finalists are:

  • Anil Kararra, Gowling WLG
  • Hector Mtsambiwa, BPS Birmingham
  • Daniel Goddard, Trowers and Hamlins LLP

The final award, for Inspiring Leader, is being sponsored by Squire Patton Boggs and recognises an exemplary and highly-influential figure within the professional community whose effect can be measured by their impact upon others. The winner of this title will be announced at the Awards Dinner.

To buy tickets to BYPY18, visit:

Read more news stories in
AwardsFeatured ArticlesWest Midlands